Wheat-Free Foods

by in Wheat Free/Gluten Free January 10, 2008

PhotobucketBaking mix
• Ener-G Rice Mix
• Ener-G Oat Mix **
• Ener-G Barley Mix
• Ener-G Brown Rice Baking Mix
• Ener-G White Rice Baking Mix
• Arrowhead Mills Griddle Lite Pancake Mix
Pasta
• Quinolt Elbow Macaroni
• Westbrae Natural Corn Pasta
• Mrs. Leeper’s Gourmet Pasta
• Various rice, corn, quinoa, Jerusalem artichoke, buckwheat and spelt pastas *spelt is not gluten free
Bread
• Rainier Rye Bread
• Mystic Lake Dairy Rice Bread
• Ener-G Tapioca Bread
• Ener-G White Rice Bead
• Essene Rye Bread
• Spelt Bread *spelt is not gluten free
Hot cereal
• Mother’s Oat Bran **
• Bread Shop Triple Bran (Oat, Rice, Corn) **
• Oatmeal **
• Cream of Rice
• Bulk eight grain wheat-free cereal and all non-wheat grains
Cold cereal
• Health Valley Amaranth
• Health Valley Oatios **
• Health Valley Rice Bran O’s **
• Arrowhead Mills Puffed Corn
• Arrowhead Mills Puffed Millet
• Arrowhead Mills Puffed Rice
• Nature’s Path Millet Rice
• Health Valley Fruit Lites
Beware of the following foods, which may contain wheat:
Beverages:
• Cocomalt, beer, gin (and drink with grain neutral spirits), malted milk, ovaltine, postum, whisky
Pastries and Desserts:
• Cakes, cookies, doughnuts, frozen pies, pies, chocolate candy, candy bars, puddings
Breads:
• Biscuits, crackers, muffins, popovers, pretzels, and rolls. The following kinds of breads: corn, gluten, graham, pumpernickel, soy, wheat, rye (rye products are not entirely free of wheat)
Wheat Products:
• Bread, dumplings, macaroni, noodles, rusk, spaghetti, vermicelli, zwieback
Cereals:
• Bran flakes, corn flakes, cream of wheat, farina, grapenuts, puffed wheat, rice krispies, shredded wheat, triscuits
Flours:
• Buckwheat flour*, corn flour*, graham flour, lima bean flour*, patent flour, rye flour*, white flour, whole wheat flour, gluten flour, rice flour*
Miscellaneous:
• Bouillon cubes, chocolate candy, cooked mixed meat dishes, fried battered foods, gravies, waffles, pancakes, ice cream cones, most of the cooked sausages, wieners, bologna, liverwurst, lunch ham, matzos, mayonnaise*, pancake mixes, sauces, synthetic pepper, some yeast, wheat germ
* Can be homemade or found at the grocery store without wheat
**Note: Oats are thought to be a gluten free grain but the actual manufacturing of them typically occurs in plants that also manufacture wheat products.  Be sure that your oats or oat flour are gluten free or use a subtitute to oats in recipes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *