Blog

Gluten/Gliadin Free Diet

by in Allergies, Recipes, Wheat Free/Gluten Free January 9, 2008

MILK
Allowed: Fresh, dry, evaporated, or condensed milk; half and half; sour or whipping cream; yogurt.
Avoid: Malted milk, some commercial chocolate drinks, and some non-dairy creamers.

MEAT, FISH, POULTRY

Allowed: All.
Avoid: Prepared meats (hot dogs, luncheon meats, chili con carne, Swiss steak, meat loaf, turkey with hydrolyzed protein injected as part of the basting solution).
CHEESE
Allowed: All aged cheeses such as: cheddar, Swiss Edam, Parmesan, cottage, cream.
Avoid: Any cheese product with oat gum.
EGGS
Allowed: Plain or in cooking.
Avoid: Eggs in sauce made from gluten-containing ingredients, such as wheat-based white sauce.
POTATO OR OTHER STARCH
Allowed: White and sweet potatoes, yams, hominy, rice, wild rice, special gluten-free noodles, some oriental rice and bean noodles.
VEGETABLES
Allowed: All plain, fresh, frozen or canned vegetables; dried peas and beans; lentils; some commercially prepared vegetables.
Avoid: Creamed vegetables or vegetables in sauce that may contain grain thickeners, commercially processed beans.
FRUITS
Allowed: All fresh, frozen, juiced, canned or dried; some commercial pie fillings.
Avoid: Thickened or prepared fruits, some pie fillings.
BREAD
Allowed: Specialty breads made of brown or white rice or tapioca. PCC has a selection.
Avoid: All others containing wheat, rye, oat, spelt, kamut, or barley flour.
CEREALS
Allowed: Hot cereals made from cornmeal, quinoa flakes, rice, hominy, or cream of rice; cold cereals such as puffed rice, puffed corn, millet or amaranth.
Avoid: All cereals containing wheat, rye, oats or barley; bran; graham; wheat germ; malt; bulgar; buckwheat; millet; teff.
FLOURS AND THICKENING AGENTS
Allowed: Cornmeal, rice bran; potato starch, corn, rice, quinoa, garbanzo bean, amaranth, and tapioca flours; agar, kudzu, and arrowroot.

4 Comments
  1. I am confused..just left a site where they say no quinoa or amaranth for gliadin sensitivity, but you say otherwise….help, please

  2. My Naturopath says no Quinoa or amaranth. The only grains allowed are Millet, rice, tapioca and corn.
    ’s last blog post..How to Enjoy Holiday Treats without Fattening Up

  3. I think the above list is g/g free so if you have one but not the other you have to know what you should and shouldnt eat. Cuz im just as confused…
    ’s last blog post..Japanese Prawn and Noodle Salad Recipe

  4. I’m no expert, but from what I’ve read, it’s not just a simple “allergic to gluten”/”not allergic to gluten”. They’re just generalizations.
    “Gluten” means different things to different people and so does “Gliadin”. They’ve come to refer to dozens of similar proteins and combinations of proteins. Also, allergies and sensitivities may be triggered by different parts of the proteins. So two people may react to the same thing, but it could be completely different parts of the protein that are causing the problem. So if you react badly to something, avoid it. When trying something “questionable”, use caution and when someone says “Nah…that’s safe for you to eat” and you know better, don’t eat it. Everyone is different and that difference could be life threatening.
    In general:
    Wheat, rye, barley, spelt and kamut are all wheats
    Rice, corn, soy, beans and potatoes aren’t wheats.
    Millet, Sorghum & Teff are relatives of corn.
    Buckwheat, Canola, Amaranth and Quinoa are distant relatives of wheat. General wisdom says that they they don’t have enough in common with wheat to be an issue. But they *do* have things in common. Pay attention and exercise caution until you know how you react.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *